Enter the FT’s Bracken Bower Prize 2019

Enter the FT's Bracken Bower Prize 2019

The Financial Times and McKinsey, the consultancy, have launched the latest edition of the Bracken Bower Prize, which opens a path to publication for young would-be business book authors.

The £15,000 award, now in its sixth year, will go to the best proposal for a business book by an author, or authors, under the age of 35.

The prize aims to encourage a new generation of business writers, and has already seen a number of shortlisted and longlisted proposals emerge as published books.

Mehran Gul, who won in 2017 for The New Geography of Innovation, which examines the rise of innovative start-ups beyond Silicon Valley, struck deals worth well over $100,000 for a forthcoming book based on his proposal.

The prize’s 2014 winner was Saadia Zahidi, whose book Fifty Million Rising, about the new generation of Muslim women entering the workforce, was published last year and was longlisted for the 2018 FT & McKinsey Business Book of the Year Award.

The winner in 2018 was Andrew Leon Hanna, whose book 25 Million Sparks will explore how entrepreneurs and entrepreneurial ideas emerge from refugee camps and communities.

Ms Zahidi is one of four judges for the 2019 prize. The others are: Jorma Ollila, former chairman of Royal Dutch Shell and Nokia; Isabel Fernandez-Mateo, professor of strategy and entrepreneurship at London Business School; and literary agent Christy Fletcher, founder and chief executive of Fletcher & Company.

The 2019 prize is open for entries until September 30, for authors under the age of 35 on November 30. Applicants are asked to submit an essay or article of no more than 5,000 words that conveys the argument, scope and style of a proposed full-length business book and include a description of its structure.

Judges are looking for a proposal for a book that aims to provide a compelling and enjoyable insight into future trends in business, economics, finance or management.

Up to three finalists will be invited to a prize-awarding ceremony in New York on December 3, which will also honour the winner of the 2019 Business Book of the Year Award.

The prize is named after Brendan Bracken and Marvin Bower, architects of the modern FT and McKinsey, respectively.

For further details and to register your interest in entering this year’s prize, visit FT Live.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here